Zsigmondy Scholarship


Richard Zsigmondy (1.4.1865 - 23.9.1929) was an Austrian chemist of Hungarian descent, who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1925 for his fundamental research on colloidal systems. Together with Heinrich Siedentopf he invented the ultramicroscope (1903) for investigating submicron particles. A few years later, Richard Zsigmondy constructed special types of membrane filters (1918-1922). With his new instruments Zsigmondy investigated gold nanoparticles and was the first to use the term "protective colloid". Besides these instrumental developments he also investigated fundamental phenomena such as light scattering or Brownian motion. The scientific work of Richard Zsigmondy today has many applications in colloid science, but even more in biochemistry and bacteriology.

The Colloid Society can honor young German scientists with the Zsigmondy Scholarship. Scholarship awardees must prove their scientific excellency and should intend to continue their work in the area of colloid sciences or similar disciplines. The scholarship consists of a certificate and a bursary of 1500 € at the awardee's free disposal.

Laureates since 1961

1961 Klaus Kühn, Heidelberg
1961 Rolf Schulz, Mainz
1961 Klaus Hummel, Hannover
1963 Hanns-Georg Kilian, Marburg
1963 Eric Brandt, Kiel
1965 Werner Funke, Stuttgart
1965 Klaus Ebert, München
1969 Gerhard Lagaly, München
1973 Werner Borchard, Clausthal-Zellerfeld
1975 Helmut Knözinger, München
1981 Bernd Heise, Ulm
1983 G. Platz, Bayreuth
1991 Gero Decher, Mainz
1993 Erwin Klumpp, Jülich
1995 Frank Simon, Dresden
1997 Andreas Pohlmeier, Jülich
2001 Regine v. Klitzing, Berlin
2003 Michael Himmelhaus, Heidelberg
2005 Andreas Fery, Bayreuth
2007 Elmar Bonaccurso, Mainz
2009 Alexander Wittemann, Bayreuth
2011 Cristina Giordano, Potsdam-Golm
2013 Dmitry Volodkin, Potsdam
2015 Matthias Karg, Bayreuth
2017 Annette Andrieu-Brunsen, Darmstadt
2019 André Gröschel, Duisburg-Essen
2021 Tobias A.F. König, Dresden